Penns Primary School

The best you can be in all that you do.

Berwood Road, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, B72 1BS

01214648014

enquiry@pennsji.bham.sch.uk

Term Dates for 2019-2020

School Term/Holidays

Autumn First Term

  Wed 4th Sept – Fri 25th Oct

Autumn Half Term Holiday

  Mon 28th Oct – Fri 1st Nov

Autumn Second Term

  Tue 5th Nov – Fri 20th Dec

Christmas Holiday

  Mon 23rd Dec – Fri 3 Jan

Spring First Term

  Tue 7th Jan – Fri 14th Feb

Spring Half Term Holiday

  Mon 17th Feb – Fri 21st Feb

Spring Second Term

  Mon 24th Feb – Fri 3rd April

Easter Holiday

  Mon 6th April – Fri 17th April

Summer First Term

  Mon 20th April – Fri 22nd   May

Summer Half Term Holiday

  Mon 25th May – Fri 29th May

Summer Second Term

  Mon 1st June – Thur 16th July

further city council term dates can be found on

https://www.birmingham.gov.uk/info/20014/schools_and_learning/685/school_term_dates

but these will not include any teacher days.

Teacher Training days

5 days in each year are allocated for Teacher Training. The school will be closed on these dates which are as follows:-

 

  • Monday 2nd September 2019
  • Tuesday 3rd September 2019
  • Monday 4th November 2019
  • Monday 6th January 2020
  • Friday 17th July 2020

Diary Dates for 2019-2020

Provisional dates:

Dear Parents/Carers,

Below is a first draft of dates for 2019-20. I am sure you can appreciate that some dates may be subject to change. Should this happen we will do our best to inform you of any changes, as soon as possible. Please keep an eye on the weekly newsletter for updates. This is where the most up to date information is.

Kind regards

M Jones – July 2019.

September 2018

September

Mon 2nd           Teacher Day

Tue 3rd             Teacher Day 

Wed 3rd           School Opens for Years 1 to 6

3rd, 4th              Reception Parent Interviews

Fri 6th               1st Reception intake

Wed 11th          2nd Reception Intake

Thurs 12th        House captain Elections

Fri 13th             Year 5 Visit Space Centre

Mon 16th          3rd Reception Intake

                        3:30pm Year 6 Residential Meeting for parents and Year 6.

Tue 17th           Y2 Class trip to Cadbury World.

Thur 19th          9:15am Cross Country for Year 1 to Year 6.

Mon 23rd          3:30pm Year 6 and Y5 Secondary Transfer Meeting for Parents

Tue 24th           Y3 visit to Kingsbury Water Park

Mon 30th          Year 6 Residential Week

October

Black History Month

Mon 7th            Book Fair

Mon7th            Grandparent Lunches Week.

Fri 11th             9am Year 2 Class Assembly

15th /16th          Life Education Bus

Fri 25th             End of half term

                        HALF TERM

November

Mon 4th            Teacher day

Tue  5th            School Opens

Learning Reviews 3:45 -6:45pm

Thur 7th            10:00am - Open morning for Reception intake September 2020.

Mon 11th          School Photographer in for Individuals and siblings. Pre school siblings can be photographed      between 8.30 and 9am in the school hall.

Anti-Bullying Week – Theme Change Starts With US

Tue 12th           Learning reviews 3:45 – 5:45pm

Wed 13th          Learning reviews 3:45 – 5:45pm

Thur 14th          2pm - Open Afternoon for Reception intake September 2020.

Tue 19th           Y2 Reading Workshop 9am.

Wed 20th          Y6 Visit parliament

 

December

Fri 6th               Whole School Pantomime Visit

Tue 10th           Christmas Performance - Afternoon

Wed 11th          Christmas Performance - Afternoon

Thur 12th          Christmas Performance - Evening

Wed 18th          Christmas Dinner followed by Class Christmas parties – non-school uniform.

Fri 20th            End of term

End of Autumn Term

January

Mon 6th           Teacher Day

Tue 7th            Children Return                                  

February

Tue 4th             9am Year 3 Class Assembly

Thurs 6th          Team photographs

Thur 13th          9am Year 4 Class Assembly

Fri 14th             School Closes for half term   

Half Term

February

Mon 24th          School Opens

Tue 25th           Learning Reviews 3:45 -6:45pm

March

Tue 3rd            Learning reviews 3:45 – 5:45pm

Wed 4th            Learning reviews 3:45 – 5:45pm

Tue 20th           Class/Group photos.

April

Fri 3rd               9am Year 5 Class Assembly

KS2 Decorate Egg and KS1 Easter Bonnet

                        End of Term

End of Spring Term

April

Mon 20th          School Opens

May  

Fri 1st               9am Year 1 Class Assembly

Monday 4th      School open NOT a bank holiday

Thur 7th           t.b.c. Local Elections – school closure

Fri 8th               BANK HOLIDAY – 75th Anniversary of VE Day

Monday 11th    KS 2 SATs week t.b.c.

Fri 15th             9am Rec Class Assembly

Friday 22nd      School Closes for half term

Half Term

June  

Monday 1st      School opens

Mon 8th Tues, Wed, Thurs, Fri  Y6RSE workshops with Andi Markham

Wed 10th          Y4 Creative Workshop

Tues 30th         Day 1 Transition for R –Y5

July

Wed 1st           Day 2 Transition for R –Y5

                        Teddy Bear’s Picnic  

Thurs 2nd         Stay & Play 1 Rec Sept 2020

Fri 3rd               Stay & Play 2 Rec Sept 2020

Mon 6th            Stay & Play 3 Rec Sept 2020

Tue 14th           Year 6 Leavers’ assembly

Mon 13th          Reports home.

Tues 14th         Open Evening

Thur 16th          Pupils’ Last Day

                        1:25pm 100% attendance

                        1:45pm Talent Show

Fri 17th             Teacher Day 5

End of Year

 Class Assemblies:

  • Reception – 9am Friday 15th May
  • Year 1 – 9am Friday 1st May.
  • Year 2 – 9am Friday 11th October
  • Year 3 – 9am, Tuesday 4th February.
  • Year 4 – 9am, Thursday 13th February.
  • Year 5 – 9am Friday 3rd April
  • Year 6 – 9am Tuesday 14th July

 

 

Class Workshops:

  • Reception – Phonics, 9am Friday 25th October
  • Year 1 – Phonics 9am Friday 27th September
  • Year 1  - Creative Workshop 2pm, Thursday 24th October
  • Year 2 – Reading, 9am Tuesday 19th November
  • Year 2 – Maths 9am, Tuesday 31st March
  • Year 3 – Creative  9am, Friday 3rd July
  • Year 3 &4 – Reading Workshop 9am Tuesday 8th October
  • Year 4 – Creative 9am, Thursday 11th June.
  • Year 5 – Maths 9am, Tuesday 28th January

              Creative 9am, Tuesday 10th March

  • Year 6 – Maths 9am, 24th September

              Reading, 9am Tuesday 12th November

Reception Parents Workshop New Intake 2020 – School Ready t.b.c

 Class Charity:

  • Reception -
  • Year 1 – Children in Need November (date t.b.c.)
  • Year 3 – t.b.c
  • Year 4 – t.b.c
  • Year 5 – Christmas Jumper day, Wednesday 18th December
  • Year 6 – Friday 5th June